< Back

Fan Voice Friday: Searching For a Win

July 14, 2017

It’s been a highly competitive Red Bull Global Rallycross season so far in 2017, with almost every driver in both classes having taken a heat victory or podium finish at some point during the year. That even goes for the Supercar class, where all but one driver has found themselves on top—and that one driver, Patrik Sandell, has race wins in each of the past three seasons.

Scott Speed, Tanner Foust, Steve Arpin, and Sebastian Eriksson are your four race winners so far in the top class, but most of the field has found itself in position to pounce at some point this year. So today we ask you, Red Bull GRC fans: which of the remaining winless Supercar drivers do you think will take a victory first in the final five rounds of the season?

Which Supercar driver will take a win first in 2017?

Mitchell deJong

The top-ranking driver in points that hasn’t yet won a race, deJong is coming off of a disappointing Indianapolis weekend where he found himself stranded on pre-grid before the semifinal. Unable to make it to the main, he gave up a significant amount of points, but it’s the lone blemish on a season that has seen the 2014 GRC Lites champion earn three podiums.

Oliver Eriksson

Coming off of a season-best fourth place in Indianapolis, Eriksson is eyeing his first podium of the year for Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE. Teammates deJong and Sebastian Eriksson have already proven that the car is capable of top three results, but Sebastian got to shave Oliver’s head after winning Louisville as part of a bet—so Oliver certainly has payback in mind.

Chris Atkinson

Subaru Rally Team USA’s first podium finisher since a spectacular 2014 season, Atkinson claimed third in the team’s home race in New England—but could have easily taken the win had he found a way past Steve Arpin in the early stages of the event (and he almost did). The ex-WRC star has adapted impressively to rallycross, and has pressured the leaders all season.

Austin Dyne

Since mechanical issues forced him to miss Memphis, Dyne and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing have been a quietly consistent group on the Red Bull GRC grid. After rebounding with a heat victory in Louisville, Dyne is frequently found in the top five at race’s end. With a high-caliber team behind him and continued progression, could he earn his first Supercar victory?

Cabot Bigham

Heat wins in both Ottawa and Indianapolis prove that last year’s GRC Lites champion is making his way up the Supercar ranks. Bryan Herta Rallysport is an experienced, race-winning team, and they’ve helped mold Bigham into a competitive driver at the highest level. Look no further than last weekend, when his 19 heat points were more than all but race winner Scott Speed.

Patrik Sandell

It’s been a hard luck season for Sandell so far, as mechanical issues and on-track contact have conspired to knock him back to 10th in points. It’s an uncharacteristically low spot for the Swede, whose move to Subaru Rally Team USA was highly regarded this offseason. Can he turn his luck around in the final five rounds? Based on last year’s results, we wouldn’t be surprised.

Somebody else

Here’s your equivalent of the mystery box: you never know who’s going to show up in the final few races of the 2017 season. Last year, Atkinson and deJong were among the late-season debutants, and look at them now! We’re not naming names, but some championship-winning drivers have been bandied about… will you take the risk and place your vote here?

Photo credit: Louis Yio