< Back

deJong Continues Winning Streak in iRacing #DIRTNight Competition from Phoenix

January 13, 2018

Can anybody find a way to beat Mitchell deJong in Red Bull Global Rallycross iRacing action?

The 2014 GRC Lites champion and real-life Supercar driver maintained his perfect record from ISM Raceway in Phoenix on Friday night, winning the RaceSpot TV-broadcast event for the fifth week in a row. deJong and Coanda Simpsort teammate Rens Broekman came across the line first and second, while Graham A. Bowlin completed the podium.

Get three months of iRacing for $5 with code PR-GRC: Click here

deJong took the lead off the start as the field got into it behind him. Sindre Setsaas made contact with Heat 2 winner Steliyan Chepilevski, causing a chain reaction that ended with multiple drivers taking damage. Nathan Lyon, who defeated deJong in Daytona heats last week, took the worst of it, later going sideways over the jump and into the wall. Both drivers would fail to finish.

“This is a really fun track—you can get a really good flow,” deJong explained after his latest win. “In conditions in the final like this, where there are patches of grip everywhere, it’s super hard to get right. In the real world, we have some races that are a bit like that as well, so you’re kind of facing that again. But it’s a fun track, and really hard to get right.

“I almost threw it away on the jump on Lap 4, and then we had a couple of issues. It’s certainly an interesting one. You’re forced to carry so much speed up to it, and the cars will naturally bottom out when you carry that much speed over it. You have to figure out how much you can get away with.”

Watch iRacing #DIRTNight from Phoenix (short): Click here

Full results from Friday night’s event are as follows:

  1. Mitchell deJong, 10 laps (Heat 1 winner)
  2. Rens Broekman, -3.093 seconds
  3. Graham A. Bowlin, -5.983
  4. Sindre Setsaas, -13.527
  5. Michael Guest, -25.264
  6. Fabian Menetrey, -1 lap
  7. Joshua K. Rogers, -2 laps (Consolation winner)
  8. Julien Schein, DNF
  9. Nathan Lyon, DNF
  10. Steliyan Chepilevski, DNF (Heat 2 winner)
  11. Ryan Kuhn, eliminated in Consolation
  12. Logan Clampitt, eliminated in Consolation
  13. Jake Hewlett, eliminated in Consolation

Next Friday’s Red Bull Global Rallycross iRacing show on RaceSpot TV sees the series return to Daytona International Speedway for the halfway point of the schedule. Stay tuned to and on social media @GRCseries for further updates!

Image via Coanda Simsport (1)

Categories: Features | iRacing