< Back

deJong Dominates Once Again in iRacing #DIRTNight Action from Indianapolis

December 30, 2017

For the third week in a row, Mitchell deJong laid the hammer down on the iRacing Red Bull Global Rallycross field on a RaceSpot TV #DIRTNight broadcast, this time dominating the action from Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis. deJong, whose real-life experience at the track was cut short this July due to mechanical issues before his semifinal, once again took the top spot on the grid for the main event and charged to the lead early, leaving the field to settle for second behind him.

Get three months of iRacing for $5 with code PR-GRC: Click here

Heat winners deJong and Moritz Löhner lined up side by side on the grid, but only one would go the 10-lap distance as drivers struggled to adapt to the real-world race layout. A second-lap incident forced Löhner to call it quits early, as first-lap contact unsettled his car heading into Turn 1 and sent it into the wall. Behind deJong, Graham Bowlin and consolation race winner Sondre Setsaas settled into second and third, and kept up an interesting battle for the second half of the final; Bowlin would keep the position, but not by much.

“(This track is) extremely difficult,” deJong admitted after the race. “The Joker is really scary, just like in real life, and especially when you’re on the main line and have to deal with what the car coming out is doing. I kind of had to take it just because I had the two cars to my right, so I just tried to make that work. It looked like we had a bit of contact there, but we were still able to make it through.

“It was a crazy first lap, I would say, but after that it was pretty okay. It’s tricky on this track, especially when the track starts to get down on the pavement on the long sweeping right. It’s super inconsistent, so it’s really hard to find that fast way around the whole time.

Watch iRacing #DIRTNight from Indianapolis: Click here

Full results from Friday night’s event are as follows:

  1. Mitchell deJong, 10 laps (Heat 1 winner)
  2. Graham A. Bowlin, -8.317 seconds
  3. Sindre Setsaas, -8.777 (Consolation winner)
  4. Michael Guest, -10.396
  5. Evan Maillard, -13.048
  6. Miika Haapanen, -15.989
  7. Ryan Kuhn, -23.776
  8. Steliyan Chepilevski, -24.696
  9. Jorn Jens, -28.821
  10. Moritz Löhner, DNF (Heat 2 winner)
  11. Fabrice Cornelis, eliminated in Consolation
  12. Pablo Araujo Castro, eliminated in Consolation
  13. Yohann Harth, eliminated in Consolation

Next week’s Red Bull GRC iRacing action on RaceSpot TV returns to Daytona International Speedway on the same course layout that saw Steve Arpin and Tanner Foust take victories in 2016. Stay tuned to and on social media @GRCseries for further updates!

Categories: Features | iRacing