< Back

Mitchell deJong Six for Six in iRacing #DIRTNight Features After Daytona Domination

January 20, 2018

There’s a reason why Mitchell deJong is one of Red Bull Global Rallycross’ top Supercar drivers, and he’s been proving it repeatedly in iRacing action this winter.

Now a perfect six for six in the races featured on RaceSpot TV’s #DIRTNight broadcasts, it was another night of standard procedure for the Californian standout and 2014 GRC Lites champion. Fastest in practice and qualifying, he won his heat and led every lap of the final. Second heat winner Steliyan Chepilevski and deJong’s Coanda Simsport teammate Jake Hewlett completed the podium, with each taking their first top-three finishes in the featured race of the week.

Get three months of iRacing for $5 with code PR-GRC: Click here

Despite a strong start from Logan Clampitt, who led the field into the first corner, deJong reclaimed the top spot before the end of the lap and never looked back. Similar to an earlier Daytona race this season, Clampitt made a mistake in the corner following the jump, yielding the lead and falling back in the pack, but would claw his way back to fifth place.

“It was certainly a good race again,” deJong said after the victory. “Logan definitely got a good jump, and also being on that left side, it’s a little shorter distance to clear there. He basically did his job, and I feel bad that (a mistake) happened to him again, basically in the same corner, but I know he’ll get it sometime—he’s doing a great job pace-wise.”

As the race progressed, the most thrilling battle saw Garrett Lowe and Graham Bowlin face off; after Lowe put the bumper to Bowlin in the first corner, Bowlin muscled back into sixth toward the end of the lap, and both drivers continued fighting until making contact over the jump, with Bowlin ending up in the wall.

Watch iRacing #DIRTNight from Daytona (long): Click here

Full results from Friday night’s event are as follows:

  1. Mitchell deJong, 10 laps (Heat 1 winner)
  2. Steliyan Chepilevski, -4.656 seconds (Heat 2 winner)
  3. Jake Hewlett, -5.959
  4. Fabian Menetrey, -8.991
  5. Logan Clampitt, -13.218
  6. Ryan Kuhn, -16.668
  7. Julien Schein, -24.858 (Consolation winner)
  8. Garrett Lowe, -26.822
  9. Graham A. Bowlin, -43.281
  10. Nathan Lyon, DNF
  11. Steven Wilson, eliminated in Consolation
  12. Rens Broekman, eliminated in Consolation
  13. Sindre Setsaas, eliminated in Consolation
  14. Michael Guest, eliminated in Consolation

Next Friday’s Red Bull Global Rallycross iRacing show on RaceSpot TV sees the series return to the unique Iowa Speedway layout for the second of three visits in the season. Stay tuned to and on social media @GRCseries for further updates!

Categories: Features | iRacing