< Back

Red Bull GRC Louisville: Power Rankings

May 20, 2017

It’s been a staple of the Red Bull Global Rallycross website for years, and now, it’s back: Power Rankings are here for Red Bull GRC Louisville!


The first race of the season is always too difficult to predict, but if there’s one thing we learned from Memphis, it’s that almost every driver in the Supercar field has a legitimate chance at standing on the podium this year. Five drivers led laps during the weekend, and the other drivers who hit the track managed to keep things interesting throughout the final.’s Chris Leone and Dominik Wilde take on the unenviable task of trying to stack these drivers up against one another. Take a look and tell us what you think:

1. Scott Speed

He’s not unbeatable, as teammate Tanner Foust proved with an incredible start in the third round of heats, but he’s still the top driver on the grid. A pole, three heat and semifinal wins, and the main event victory are the kind of returns that most drivers dream of. (CL)

2. Tanner Foust

Like Speed, Foust had a faultless weekend in Memphis, but despite being the more experienced of the pair, he lost his all-time wins record to his team mate last time out. On his day he is still very much top dog in Red Bull GRC, but he’s got a tough task on his hands right now racing alongside Speed. (DW)

3. Steve Arpin

It doesn’t matter what name is on the side of his hauler. Arpin showed why he’s the best of the rest in Memphis with an expert Joker Lap to crack the podium. The stickers on the car might be a little different, but the same driver and same crew are producing the same results as 2016. (CL)

4. Mitchell deJong

It’s probably not very fair to call Mitchell deJong’s fourth place finish in Memphis a “surprise,” yet he managed to finish ahead of both his experienced race-winning teammate, and the guy who has competed in the last two Lites seasons in the third Honda. Not only that, but he was in the podium hunt for much of the final too. (DW)

5. Chris Atkinson

“Atko” had a decent start to the year in Memphis. He took his first heat win and was a monster off the line throughout the weekend. An electrical problem in the final wasn’t really a fair return for the former World Rally Championship star but he showed that he’ll be in the mix this year, and that Subaru have made huge strides over the winter. (DW)

6. Sebastian Eriksson

If not for losing his power steering two laps into the main event, it might have been Eriksson on the podium instead of Arpin in Memphis. The lone full-time holdover at Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE hasn’t won a final since June 2015. He’s due for another. (CL)

7. Patrik Sandell

All things considered, it was a positive first weekend with Subaru for Sandell. A brace of second places in the heats set the three-time race winner up well for the weekend, but heavy contact in the aborted first start in the final brought a premature end to his charge. (DW)

8. Cabot Bigham

After only one year in rallycross, people may have expected Bigham to take it easy in his Supercar debut. Not so—his aggression impressed many in the paddock. Improving in every session on the track is a good way to set a positive tone heading into Louisville. (CL)

9. Oliver Eriksson

Memphis was the 2015 Lites champion’s first ever Supercars appearance, but you wouldn’t have guessed it. The rookie claimed he was ‘disappointed’ to come away with a top five finish – the mark of a true racing driver. He had to work hard for that position too. The kid has made his mark, and I expect many have taken note. (DW)

10. Austin Dyne

Engine troubles prevented Dyne from showing what he can do in his first race with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. But with the new team support behind him, he remains confident in his overall prospects for 2017. Expect the Los Angeles native to be fired up in Louisville. (CL)

Red Bull Global Rallycross Louisville

Event Info: Click here // Tickets: Click here // Volunteers: Click here
Download the App: App Store // Google Play
Play Fantasy Challenge: Click here
Supercar Finals: May 21, 1PM ET, NBC // Lites Finals: May 24, 5PM ET, NBCSN