< Back

Chris Atkinson Wins Pole for Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle I

September 9, 2017

Subaru Rally Team USA’s Chris Atkinson kicked off what could be a truly special weekend for the team by earning his second career Red Bull Global Rallycross pole at Evergreen Speedway. Atkinson’s fastest lap of 39.002 seconds held off defending race winner Tanner Foust of Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross by .141 seconds.

A new qualifying format shuffled the field for this weekend’s action, with last year’s “fast six” format returning to play; drivers were split into two groups based on final practice time, with odd-ranked drivers in Group 1 and even-ranked drivers in Group 2. The new format claimed a high-profile casualty in Scott Speed, however, who posted only the eighth-fastest lap in qualifying and was not able to challenge for the pole.

In GRC Lites, every team placed at least one car in the final round of qualifying with points leaders Cyril Raymond, Conner Martell, and Travis PeCoy placing 1-2-3 in the first round. In final qualifying, Raymond held onto the top spot with a time of 40.666 seconds.

Supercar final round qualifying results for Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle are as follows:

  1. Chris Atkinson, #55 Subaru Rally Team USA, 39.002
  2. Tanner Foust, #34 Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross, 39.143
  3. Mitchell deJong, #24 Honda Red Bull Olsbergs MSE, 39.506
  4. Steve Arpin, #00 Loenbro Motorsports, 40.029
  5. Austin Cindric, #19 Bryan Herta Rallysport, 1:19.777
  6. Patrik Sandell, #18 Subaru Rally Team USA, no time

Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle continues tonight with first-round heats for Supercar and GRC Lites, and resumes on Saturday with the remaining Round 10 heats, semifinals, and finals. Follow along with live timing and scoring at Watch the action live on NBC tomorrow at 4:30PM ET/1:30PM PT.

Red Bull Global Rallycross Seattle

Event Info: Click here // Tickets: Click here // Volunteers: Click here
Play Fantasy Challenge: Click here
Download the App: App Store // Google Play
Supercar Round 10 Finals: September 9, 4:30PM ET, NBC // Supercar Round 11 Finals: September 10, 4:30PM ET, NBC
Lites Rounds 10-11 Finals: September 13, 4:30PM ET, NBCSN

Categories: Breaking News